Vermont Turkey Season and Regulations 2022

In the state of Vermont, a turkey license consists of 2 spring turkey tags and 1 fall turkey tag. All hunters must also have a hunting license. It is important to view and understand all of the laws and regulations in each state prior to hunting. To view all hunting laws and regulations in the state of Vermont,  click here. To purchase a license in the state of Vermont online, click here. To find a license agent in the state of Vermont, click here.

License Resident Non-Resident
Youth Hunting (Under 18) $8 $25
1 Year Hunting License $28 $102
5 Year Hunting License $134 $504
Turkey License $23 $38
Youth Turkey Hunting Weekend 
When:

April 23 – 24, 2022

Who:

Any resident or nonresident youth, 15 years of age or younger.

Requirements: 

Must have already successfully completed a hunter safety course. A qualified youth will get a free youth turkey hunting tag, but must also purchase a Vermont hunting license and turkey license at a license agent by either showing proof of satisfactorily completing the hunter safety course or proof of having held a valid hunting license previously. The youth hunter’s parent or guardian must sign the hunting license application in the presence of the license agent.

When hunting, the youth hunter must be accompanied by an unarmed adult over 18 years of age who holds a valid Vermont hunting license. The adult may accompany no more than two youth hunters at any given time.

Shooting Hours

One-half hour before sunrise to 5:00 p.m. for this weekend season only.

Limit

The youth hunter may take one bearded turkey during Youth Turkey Hunting Weekend and may also hunt during the Spring Season and take two bearded turkeys during that season.

Novice Turkey Hunting Weekend

When:

April 23 – 24, 2022 

Who:

Novice: A person who has purchased their first hunting license within the past 12 months and is 16 years of age or older.

Requirements:

To participate in the novice season, a qualified person must have a valid Vermont hunting license, turkey license and a novice turkey hunting tag and follow the requirements of the youth turkey hunting weekend.

The novice hunter must be accompanied by an unarmed adult who holds a valid Vermont hunting license and who is 18 years of age or older. An adult accompanying a novice shall accompany no more than two novice hunters at one time.

Shooting Hours

One-half hour before sunrise to 5:00 p.m. for this weekend season only.

Limit

One bearded turkey per novice. A novice may also hunt during the spring season and take two bearded turkeys during that season.

Spring Turkey Season

When:

May 1–31, 2022

Who:

Any qualified person over the age of 15.

Requirements:

A current hunting or combination license and current turkey license with tag are required to hunt turkey. In addition to a hunting license and a turkey license, a turkey hunter using a bow or crossbow must have a previous or current bow license or a certificate proving completion of a bow hunter education course.

Shooting Hours

One-half hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon.

Limit

Two bearded turkeys

Archery Country sells everything you need for turkey season! Check out our selection of turkey calls, ground blinds, hunting clothes, and turkey decoys. Click here to learn all about bowhunting turkeys on our podcast!

Check Us Out On  YouTube and Podbean!

Ep 35: Bowhunting Turkeys: Gear, Stories and StrategyEp 16: Turkey Hunting 101 With Matt Dykes